• India joins CERN as an associate member

    India becomes Associate Member State of CERN. India and European Organisation for Nuclear Research (CERN) signed an agreement today.

    This follows CERN Council’s adoption of the resolution to this effect on September 15, 2016. The agreement was signed by Dr. Sekhar Basu, Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission and Secretary, Department of Atomic Energy and CERN Director General Dr. Fabiola Gianotti in Mumbai today.

    CERN is the world’s largest nuclear and particle physics laboratory, where scientists and engineers are probing the fundamental structure of the Universe by using the most sophisticated scientific instruments and advanced computing systems. CERN is based in Geneva on the French-Swiss border.

    Presently CERN has 22 member states, four associate member states, and the observer status is given to four states and three International Organisations.

    In recent years, Indian scientists have been involved in all pioneering activities at CERN. Reilly Smith Authentic Jersey

    Share This